pink fish blue fish

In the kitchen

Posted on: February 25, 2010

Thanks to our very healthy zucchini plants, we have had heaps of zucchini’s this week! This is what we made with them…

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

Sounds weird, I know! But my 4 year old blue fish, who won’t have anything to do with zucchini  loved it and yes he knew what was in it!

1 ¼ cups SR flour
¼ cup cocoa
¾ cup sugar
splash of vanilla
pinch of salt
1 egg
½ cup oil
¼ cup milk
1 medium zucchini, finely grated 

I just put it all in big bowl and mix it with a wooden spoon. Pour into a greased cake tin and bake at 180C for 35 or until just cooked. 

You can eat it plain, or put chocolate icing on top, or sprinkle choc chips on top before you bake it. Yummo!

Chicken Lasagne, with 3 bean mix, zucchini and carrot

I’ve been trying to incorporate more beans and legumes into our diet, and a little less meat. So this is a recipe I made up as I was cooking, and was suprisingly really yummy! The kids loved it too which is always a bonus 🙂

500g chicken mince & 1 diced onion – brown the mince and onion, till the mince is cooked through.

1 tin of 3 bean mix (rinsed and mashed slightly), 2 grated carrots, 2 grated zucchinis – add to the mince mixture, cook for a couple of minutes

add pasta sauce (I often buy passata, which is cheaper, and add garlic and fresh basil – yum!) – and simmer on a low heat while you make the white sauce.

This is how I make my white sauce, it’s easy and quick, and I’ve never had a problem with it being lumpy. You can make it like this, make your own recipe, use premade sauce or even ricotta cheese works nicely instead of white sauce. Whatever works for you!

In a saucepan melt 2T butter, add 1 T garlic and 2 T flour. Stir quickly to combine. Add about a cup of milk and, using a whisk, keep whisking it until it comes together. It will look lumpy at first, that’s ok, keep whisking and it will get there! I just add a bit more milk until it’s the consistency I like. Then I’ll add parmesan cheese if we have some, to give it a bit more flavour.

Now you’ve got your 2 sauces, layer them up how you would a normal lasagne. I like to put some chicken sauce on the bottom, then the pasta sheets, chicken sauce, white sauce, and keep going until you’re nearly at the top. I finish it off with pasta sheets, white sauce then grated cheese. Bake at 190C for around 45 minutes. It’ll take a little longer if you used lots of pasta sheets. We have ours with salad and garlic bread, delicous!

not the best photo, but it was so yummy!

3 Responses to "In the kitchen"

Renae, how lovely it was to travel with you and spend time with you at SIT. Thank you so much for the fabulous swap journal and I&S fabric. I hope to meet you again soon.
Susie (Yarnplanner)

Hello Gorgeous, It was great meeting you at sit and I was glad we were buddies. thanks for the laughs and entertainment. I have just posted about your birthday! Please tell me if I have the right spelling of your name! Hope you have recovered, it is going to take me a long time!

WOW!!! Choc and zuchini cake – yummy!! Look forward to meeting you at SIT!

Leave a Reply

